March 3, 2018

Best Feature Goes to 'Get Out' at the 2018 Independent Spirit Awards

2018 Independent Spirit Awards are underway and we’re here to bring you the winners as they come in.

Film Independent’s big awards show, the Independent Spirit Awards, has come to a close, but not without honoring the best work in independent film.

Cinema legend Angés Varda and JR won Best Documentary for Faces Places, while newcomer Matt Spicer won Best First Feature for his film Ingrid Goes West. To honor her outstanding ensemble cast, Dee Rees accepted the Robert Altman Award for her film Mudbound, and Antonio Méndez Esparza’s Life and Nothing More took the John Cassavetes Award, which honors features made for under $500K.

Several major Oscar contenders took home big awards, including Call Me by Your Name’s Timothée Chalamet for Best Male Lead and DP Sayombhu Mukdeeprom for Best Cinematography, Lady Bird’s Greta Gerwig for Best Screenplay, and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’s Frances McDormand for Best Female Lead and Sam Rockwell for Best Supporting Male.

Read More

Source: NoFilmSchool